Rootstech 2016

I’ve signed up to attend Rootstech in Salt Lake City in February next year.  I attended in 2012 and was one of the few Australians there then.  Times have changed though.  I’d gone to Salt Lake City for a few days research at the family history library before flying to visit my friend in Raleigh, North Carolina.

Salt Lake City 2012
Salt Lake City 2012

When I found out about the conference and that it was at the end of my trip I decided to change my flights and extend my stay to be able to attend.  It was well worth it.  There were only a few thousand people there in 2012 and in 2015 around 23,000!  It’s difficult to imagine so many at one conference.

RootsTech 2012
RootsTech 2012

I met lots of interesting people including Jill Ball aka Geniaus.  The exhibitors were wonderful to meet and there were understandably so many compared to conferences here in Australia.  I’m really looking forward to seeing who will be there next year.  One of the many highlights of 2012 was being able to visit the family history library after hours.  They opened it up for the conference attendees and streamed an episode of Who Do You Think You Are.  I was able to squeeze in some more research.

I stayed a few days after the conference to do some more research at the family history library which sadly isn’t open on Sundays.  I attended the Sunday service at the Tabernacle with friends I had made at the conference.

IMG_3312
Salt Lake City Tabernacle

As I’ve already booked for 2016 I was able to put my name down for some of the computer classes that were totally full last time.  There are many exciting presenters that I’m looking forward to listening to.  Two of the keynote speakers sound really inspiring, Paula Williams Madison who has written Finding Samuel Lowe: China, Jamaica, Harlem a book about finding and reuniting with her family in China.  I have downloaded her book and have just started reading it.  The other is Doris Kearns Goodwin who is a presidential historian, Pullitzer prize winning author and appears on many tv shows.  Both should be wonderful to hear.

Some of the other speakers I’m looking forward to attending their sessions include D. Joshua Taylor (a wonderful speaker), Dr. Bruce Durie and John Grenham.  There are another 202 speakers to choose from!  I will be blogging about my experiences and research there in February next year.

 

 

Comment

