Welcome to my blog

I’ve begun this blog to share stories and photos of my ancestors with my family and to encourage interaction with all of my extended family.  I hope to find new cousins with family stories and photos to share as well as connect with my known family.  I will also be posting some photos where the subjects are unknown in the hope that someone will recognize them.

I have been researching my family for about twenty years and wish I had started much earlier and could recall all those family stories my grandmother would tell.  She knew so much about the history of the family and would talk about someone’s husband who lost his arm in an accident with a tram or some of the family who changed their name as their name was too German.

I am a professional genealogist, a photographer,  love to research, cook, collect recipes and play golf.  I completed my MA investigating the emigration scheme that brought my great, great-grandmother Matilda Sarah Ann Read, her future sister-in-law, Jane Servante and her future husband Charles Joseph (Copsey) Servante to Australia in 1850.   One of the many stories I will share on this blog.  It is one of the topics I have given a talk on at the Genealogical Society of Victoria (GSV) where I also volunteer.

I have a passion for genealogy and have created a business to not only help others with their research but to consult with you on how to research your family yourself.  I can advise on software options, online options, technology etc.  I have given a number of talks to family history societies on aspects of my research and travels.  With a background in the travel industry I am able to structure family history journeys.  I have my BA Honours in Creative Media from RMIT and my MA (History) from Monash University.

Names that I am researching include Collier, Boyd, McKnight, Fiedler, Johnstone, McGillivray, Servante, Erhardt, Kent, Turner, Dunlop, Delap, McDonald, Copsey, Clary, Scouller, Baldwin, Roberts, Barnes, Schofield, Lord, Sims, Hamilton, Brown, Crystall, McFadden, Gregg, Pattison, Pickering.

Places that our family are from include London, Bledlow Ridge, Plymouth, Mary Tavy, Peter Tavy, Dover, Rochdale, Haltwhistle, Bardon Mill, Hexham, Brampton, Lockerbie, Strathaven, Kilwinning, Sleat on the Isle of Skye, Glasgow, Inchyra Village, Dundee, Raphoe in Donegal, Upper Grange in Armagh, Erdmannsdorf in Prussia now Myslakowice in Poland, Hegnach & Bissingen in Wurttemberg.

